Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday

31 Mar

Something Something Button

I haven’t seen my therapist in probably nine months or more.

Husband took a new job {yay, nice pay jump! shorter commute!} back in June of last year, and when our health insurance benefits changed, I got lazy about looking into the coverage we had for therapy. Plus, I have been doing great, so I didn’t think we needed to shell out the moo-lah just for me to sit and talk about myself for 45 minutes every month.

But, I secretly miss it.

I enjoy talking about myself. {does this make me a shallow person? God, I hope not. I like to listen to other people talk about themselves too. This is why I am a blog addict.} And I think it’s fun to bounce ideas off my therapist. I had dinner with a friend of mine earlier this week and felt so bad afterwards because I basically chewed her ear off for almost three hours. {Note to self: need to work on being a better listener. friends are not a substitute for a therapist.} Hence, I have realized that maybe I should make that therapy appointment so that I don’t wear my friend’s ears out.

And so, I am going to call my therapist’s office first thing Monday morning to get an appointment. Who-hoo!! I’m excited about therapy! (As an added bonus, she gives a good hug at the end of each visit. She’s sweet like that.)

Oh, and I’m also excited that this is my first link-up with Kim. She rocks. I *heart* her. Read her blog. This gal has a way with words. Plus, she’s freaking hilarious.

Happy weekend everyone!

{Husband graciously took the kids to their favorite nearby farm to see the animals so that I could write in a quiet house this morning.  He texted me this picture. I love him to pieces.}
5 Responses to “Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday”

  1. Jill @ Mommy Inconsistent April 1, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    What a great hubby for giving you some quiet time to write. I think everyone should go to see a therapist at one point in their lives. I have and it helped a lot!

    Visiting from Kimberly’s linkup.

    • BipolarMomLife April 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      Thanks Jill! I just now got some time to sit and visit your blog and the other gals who were in on Kim’s linkup.

      Yes, the hubby got major points for taking the kids to the farm. I returned the favor this afternoon when I took both kids to the grocery store with me while I tried to shop for a week’s worth of groceries using coupons. Oh, the fun! :-P

    • BipolarMomLife April 3, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks Jill! Yes, he’s very good at noticing when I could use a little kid-free time. {and if he doesn’t notice, I’m not too shy to ask.} :)

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) March 31, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    OoooOOO that’s a good one.
    Well I go every other week sometimes more frequent…because we’re still working out the kinks. But in all honesty, I love going. I learn so much about myself and how to cope. It’s productive. However, I sometimes wonder if my doctor takes a swig of something after I leave his office. I can sometimes bring an ear full :)
    So excited you linked up!! Whoot Whoot!

    • BipolarMomLife March 31, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      I love going too. It’s my me-time. I even enjoy the drive to and from the appointment. Such a free feeling to be baby-free for a little over an hour. Sometimes I go to the bathroom before I leave the office so that I can pee in peace. :)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

