Things my kids can teach me

2 Apr

My kids can teach me to appreciate the little things. That it can be really fun to:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Enjoy a cool fruit popsicle on a hot summer afternoon. {Or better yet, an ice cream sandwich.}
  • Build a tower from wooden blocks. {Then promptly knock it down. Repeat many times.}
  • Splash around in a warm bubble bath at the end of the day.
  • Run around the playground without a care in the world.
  • Chase and pop bubbles floating in the breeze.
  • Get super excited for holidays like Valentine’s Day and Halloween; the excitement surrounding the big ones is just out of control.
  • Walk around and admire {and smell} animals at the zoo.

But most of all, each and every day, my babies can remind me that pretty much everything can be fixed with a hug and a kiss. {Mostly thanks to sibling spats that I am constantly breaking up every fifteen to twenty minutes, every day of every week.}

But hey, it’s the little things. Right?

Mama’s Losin’ It

Linking up with Kathy of Mama’s Losing It!

7 Responses to “Things my kids can teach me”

  1. sheriw1223 April 4, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Love this post! I grew up in a very staid family, and I had to learn how to be silly and play when my first daughter was born. It was wonderful when she first started walking to learn to slow down to her pace and pay attention to all the amazing things that were at her level. Thank you for the reminder of those terrific days.

    • BipolarMomLife April 4, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      Glad you liked it Sheri! Yes, I’m trying to embrace these young years. Even when my daughter throws food on the floor at the end of the meal to signal she’s done. Speaking of, eggs are almost on the floor right now so I guess breakfast is over! :)

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Chasing bubbles…the best past time :)

    • BipolarMomLife April 3, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      My kids make me blow bubbles so fast I usually get light-headed! I need to get some of those bubbles that are super strong and long-lasting. So I don’t pass out from bubble-blowing. HA! :)

  3. Mountain Missy April 2, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    I love this. Bipolar can rob so much from us and to appreciate and blog about it! the little things in life that make you happy really is touching.
    It makes me think I should really appreciate my boys more! :)

    • BipolarMomLife April 3, 2012 at 8:15 am #

      Thank you so much! I’m trying my best to appreciate the little things because they find so much joy in them. Makes me feel like a kid again – without a care in the world.

      • Mountain Missy April 3, 2012 at 9:37 am #

        love that. :)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

