Dinner – STAT!

3 Apr

So yesterday afternoon I realized we needed to run to Target for a few things after the kids woke up from their naps. They woke up around 3:15 and I gave them a snack before we left the house. You’d think we’d be able to get to there and home before 5:30, but sometimes just getting sneakers and jackets on the two of them takes twenty minutes.

By the time we got on the road it was 4:15 and I was having second thoughts about going. But the fact was that the kitty needed litter and I would much rather he do his business in his box versus my closet because he’s pissed he didn’t have a fresh sandbox.

First thing I noticed after buckling up the kids in their carseats was the empty gas light on my dash. FUN! Another twenty minutes added to our trip right there. This could have been taken as a sign to stay home with the kids and let my husband make a quick stop on his way home. But no, I took it as the challenge that it was. GAME ON.

I pulled up to the gas station with 3 miles to spare before empty. The kids were not throwing tantrums yet. The good news: we were in and out in fifteen minutes. The bad news: it cost $71 buckaroos to fill up my tank.

On the way to Target I bribed made a deal with my little man. If you are well-behaved during our shopping trip, you can get a surprise when we are in line at the checkout. He agreed to the deal with enthusiasm. That’s my boy.

I was pretty good at maneuvering through the aisles where we needed stuff and avoiding the ones that had stuff we didn’t need. {which can be tough to do at a store like Target where everywhere you look you find something you need} I saved the baby aisle for last because I wanted to pick up a few of those fruit/veggie puree squeeze pouches which I like to keep in my diaper bag for emergency snacks. My daughter started crying for one as soon as I loaded ten into our cart. But I was on a mission to get us outta there, so she had to wait.

I was able to get to the checkout line and unload the contents of the cart before they both started really crying for their good-behavior rewards. My daughter got the last squeeze pouch I had in my bag, and my little guy got a Dum-Dums lollipop which he promptly took a lick of and accidentally dropped – through the holes in the cart onto the filthy Target floor. He was amazingly okay with what happened when I told him I’d give him one of the Easter candies I picked up while we were shopping. He said he’d rather have a pouch. I said okay and cracked open one that I had just paid for.

We got home around 5:45 and luckily my husband was home which provided the perfect entertainment/distraction for me to drop everything and get their dinner on the table. {the hubby and I were having leftover chicken fajitas he had made the night before that the kids rejected because they were too spicy}

And thus the point of my post. In situations like last night, I know this probably sounds silly, but I pride myself on being able to put together a healthy {or mostly healthy} dinner in a very short amount of time. I love having those cute toddler dinner plates with the dividers because it helps me to remember to fill one section with protein and a little carbs, and the other two sections with fruits and veggies.

The first thing I did was stick some fish sticks in the toaster oven. Then I peeled two large carrots and sliced them up. Stuck them in water in a microwavable dish and steamed them along with a few broccoli florets in 5 minutes. While they steamed, I washed some blackberries and grapes, and divided them up among the two plates.

 

 

Add a squirt of organic ketchup to each little sauce compartment of the tray and I was ready to ring the dinner bell. Less than 12 minutes total for me to pull that dinner together. {I timed myself.}

I try to save the fish sticks and chicken nuggets for the nights when we’re really in a hurry. I love finding inspiration to try different things for their meals by searching Pinterest or other mommy blogs. One that I think is super cool is mannlymama. Brandy has created her own Toddler Dinner series where she blogs each week about what she’s feeding her toddler Landon. She is so creative and has neat ideas to keep your toddler eating up a storm. {I mean, turkey stabbed with pretzel sticks? Pure genius!} Check her out. If you’re struggling with a picky eater, or just need some inspiration to make the daily chore of cooking more fun, she’s got you covered.

4 Responses to “Dinner – STAT!”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    You’re a rock star. I think that I’d also pride myself in not pulling my hair out :)
    And 71 bucks to fill the tank? EEKS!!!

    • BipolarMomLife April 4, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

      Awww, thanks Kim! Felt like a rock star tonight too after making Tilapia with this new Kraft seasoning/breading stuff…..everyone loved it, even my husband who is a super picky eater (when I’m the one who cooked it). :)

  2. Brandy April 4, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Thanks for the shout out! Great thinking on your feet mama! Oh and the pretzel idea came from when he was a wee tot and couldn’t wield a fork well and I was out of bread for sandwiches. We liked having picnics and I didn’t want dishes to clean. VOILA!

    • BipolarMomLife April 4, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      Of course! Thanks for all the great ideas and tips! LOVE the pretzel idea and can’t wait to try it. You are such a savvy mama! :)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

