The Sunday blues

8 Apr

I cannot be the only housewife who has to deal with her poor husband’s case of the Sunday blues.

All freaking day, starting promptly at 12pm every Sunday on the dot. It’s as if his body has an internal alarm clock that goes off once the afternoon hits and he realizes he has to go back to work the next day for an entire week.

Give me a break.

Around noon each Sunday he ceases all conversation with me, parks his butt on the couch with the remote in hand and begins staring blankly into the TV screen until his eyes glaze over and eventually close. Ten minutes later he can be heard snoring from the next room.

I get so frustrated with his lack of responsiveness that I usually end up yelling at him. Nagging him to do one thing or another. Like that helps. But I don’t know what else to do sometimes.

Doesn’t he want to enjoy every last drop of his weekend with his family? Why can’t he help me with their baths instead of just laying there? I’d LOVE to be lounging on the couch having a beer  while watching my favorite sporting event too, but I have two babies who are crying for my attention. So you just go ahead, whydon’tyou. 

One weekend, after another one of our routine Sunday afternoon/evening arguments, he told me that I just didn’t understand. Then he asked me if I remembered what I was like on Sundays when I was working.

I stopped to think.

I actually could barely remember the days of getting dressed up to go to an office and sit at a desk and talk to clients and be all professional, let alone how I acted on Sundays. It was as if those days were so far behind me. In reality it has only been four years.

But if I think back really hard I can remember what it was like. I used to get all tense and edgy and stressed – anxious even – when Sunday afternoons rolled around. I’d start to think about the work I left piled at on my desk when I left on Friday and would dread the buzz of the alarm clock when it startled me awake the next morning. And I would have to d-r-a-g myself out of bed each and every single Monday morning in order to make it to the office on time.

Now when I think of him sulking about having to go to work on Mondays, I get a tad bit jealous thinking about how nice it would be to have a whole entire eight hours {including commute time} to myself. I would be able to go to the bathroom by myself. I’d be able to sit and enjoy lunch over thirty minutes without having to wipe messy hands and faces, change diapers and wipe bottoms twenty minutes after eating, and bend over and sweep up crumbs off the floor. I’d be able to chat with colleagues while eating. People who were older than 3! Oh, it would be glorious.

But I wouldn’t last more than a week.

I’d miss my kids way too much.

So I’m thinking I need to learn to be more tolerant of my husband’s Sunday afternoon behavior. I have always needed to work on being compassionate to what other people are going through if it is not something familiar to me at the time. I guess the best place to start would be at home with the man I love so dearly. I am going to work on this.

But in the meantime, I’m curious. If you can relate to this post, how do you deal with your husband or partner’s Sunday blues??

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 Responses to “The Sunday blues”

  1. mamaslosinit April 10, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    I think my comment was eaten. To summarize I said YES it happens to use to, but that I think I’ve nagged my husband about it so much he’s finally stopped doing it so often!

  2. mamaslosinit April 10, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I definitely have these days with my husband, though I don’t think it’s every Sunday. I think I’ve nagged him enough about to finally force him to get up. It really is obnoxious…we don’t get ANY days off. When is your day to just sit and stare at the TV while your husband takes care of the kids? It doesn’t work like that for us.

    • BipolarMomLife April 10, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      I know, right?! I feel like moms never get a day off. I guess we always have Mother’s Day. I milk it for all it’s worth. :)

  3. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 10, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    My husband has been off since Thursday. Sunday? Torture. And we were at my family’s house for Easter.
    I remember getting like this too when I had to go to work on Monday. I think it’s par for the course I suppose. But still, instead of sulking why not spend time with the family? Enjoy the day instead of ruining it.

    • BipolarMomLife April 10, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      I know, my thoughts exactly. He read my post and said he just likes to have some time to relax before the week starts. We agreed we’d both work on dealing with the Sunday Blues better. We’ll see how long it lasts.

  4. Natalie @MamaTrack April 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    You know, even as a SAHM, I get the Sunday blues too. It makes me sad that our “family fun time” is ending for the week. I don’t have a solution, but I definitely know how he’s feeling.

    • BipolarMomLife April 10, 2012 at 11:13 am #

      Me too, I must admit. It is sad to see our family time come to an end. But we still have fun in the evenings during the week too. Maybe I need to work on planning some of those things – like the family bike ride we went on recently – to help make the week seem more bareable.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

