Learning by puzzles

10 Apr

When I picked him up from preschool, I could already tell. It was going to be a no-nap kind of afternoon. He just had that look in his eye. That “I’m not sleepy, Mommy” look in his eyes.

We’d try anyway.

After lunch I gently guided them both upstairs, and we read a book all three of us together in his room before I tucked him in, turned off the light and closed the door wishing him a happy nap. His sister was climbing mightily up onto his bed and back down again the entire time we were reading, so I knew she wasn’t interested in another nap today. She already napped today on the way home from her swim lesson so I wasn’t going to force another one on her.

Instead we crept downstairs to the family room for some quality one-on-one time. These moments are so precious to me, and her, I think, since we rarely have time together without her older brother. She was all smiles with her soft pink sweatshirt hoodie on, and almost giddy as she went over and grabbed an animal sounds puzzle. I wasn’t surprised. Animals are the most interesting thing to her lately, “dog” was one of her first baby signs and whenever she sees one she starts signing energetically with a huge smile.

We sat together and dumped out the puzzle pieces. I could hear her brother tossing and turning on the monitor next to us, but tried my best to stay focused on her. I made a game out of the puzzle and asked her to pick out each animal from the pieces and she got all of them right, placing the piece immediately in its corresponding place. Made me stop to think about how smart she is, even though she is so much quieter than her brother was at this age.

We did each puzzle twice – the farm animals, the wild animals and then the musical instrument one. Little man was still shuffling around in his bed, throwing the covers off and then jumping under them again. I could tell that a nap was wishful thinking. But I wasn’t ready to let go of my special time with his sister. So I had her go to the bookshelf to pick some books.

We read three and then I looked at her and said we should probably go get him. To which she smiled, and grunted her approval, nodding her head.

5 Responses to “Learning by puzzles”

  1. Brooke Chambers April 12, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Sounds like such a sweet moment you shared. I’m sure she adored her time with you.

    Thank you so much for stopping by my little space and leaving such sweet words :)

    • BipolarMomLife April 13, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      It was a sweet moment. We’re having more of those lately. And I love it.

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 11, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    I just have the one. I couldn’t imagine trying to give more than one some quality time. I’m glad that you did this with her. I bet she loved it very much.

  3. Amanda @wandering April 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    As a mom of two little boys (eighteen months apart) I know how hard it is to get that one-on-one time, especially with my younger one these days. This was precious to read about AND a reminder on how to carve out some time.

    • BipolarMomLife April 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Yes, it’s a struggle sometimes, as you know I’m sure. I’m glad you enjoyed my post. Reading the comments from it reminds me to carve out that time every day, even if it’s only 10 minutes. Because it means so much to her.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

