I took the pledge

12 Apr

BWS tips button

The Mom Pledge

I am proud to be a mom. I will conduct myself with integrity in all my online activities. I can lead by example.

I pledge to treat my fellow moms with respect. I will acknowledge that there is no one, “right” way to be a good mom. Each woman makes the choices best for her family.

I believe a healthy dialogue on important issues is a good thing. I will welcome differing opinions when offered in a respectful, non-judgmental manner. And will treat those who do so in kind.

I stand up against cyber bullying. My online space reflects who I am and what I believe in. I will not tolerate comments that are defamatory, hateful or threatening.

I refuse to give those who attack a platform. I will remove their remarks with no mention or response. I can take control.

I want to see moms work together to build one another up, not tear each other down. Words can be used as weapons. I will not engage in that behavior.

I affirm that we are a community. As a member, I will strive to foster goodwill among moms. Together, we can make a difference.


I remember having to deal with bullying as a kid. There was an older boy on the bus I rode to school with my brother and he would pick on anyone who looked at him, saying the meanest things he could come up with. It hurt, and I remember talking with my mom about it. But nothing was ever done to stop it. Back then, it was just looked at as a part of growing up.

No child should ever have to endure teasing or name-calling because it can lead to such unthinkable consequences, like suicide, if it goes too far. And in my opinion, any instance of bullying, no matter how harmless it may seem at the time, is capable of causing heartbreaking pain to a person. You never know what another person is feeling, and everyone deserves to be treated with respect. This is why I am taking the pledge. Because it starts with me.

I want to teach my children that bullying is wrong. I want them to stand up for kids who may be a victim of bullying. And I want them to be proud of themselves for doing the right thing.

I can do this by living this pledge. And this is what I am vowing to do.

4 Responses to “I took the pledge”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 13, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Gah I’ve been meaning to do this for ages. Really. I should get on that ;)

    • BipolarMomLife April 13, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Go Mama! Get on that! It would be a perfect follow-up to your bully post. xoxo

  2. silverlining09 April 13, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    i am a mom of twin daughters and i support you with your endeavor. more power!

    • BipolarMomLife April 13, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

      Thank you for reading and for your support! It means so much to me.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

