The most important words

24 Apr

{Words}

I am the type of person that needs to hear certain words at times in my life. If I don’t, I feel lonely and sad. If I do, I am able to persevere, no matter how difficult the challenge I am faced with.

{I am sorry}

{I support you}

{It’s going to be okay}

{I missed you}

{Money is not important}

{We can get through this}

{I am here for you, no matter what}

{I love you}

To me, those last three words are the most important, by far. They can substitute, in a pinch, for all the others, and they make those other phrases even more warm and fuzzy when said together.

But for me, if I never heard any other words in my life but “I love you”, I’d get along just fine.

I make it a point to say it to my husband and kids throughout the day because it makes everyone feel good. To know you are loved has got to be one of the best feelings in the world. I know it is for me.

Linking up with two amazing blogs:

and

9 Responses to “The most important words”

  1. momalomjen April 27, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I think being able to identify the words you need to hear is amazing. Wow. Thanks so much for linking up. I’m going to think about this post for a while!

    • BipolarMomLife April 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jen! What a cool link-up – it was fun participating! :)

  2. amanda {the habit of being} April 25, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    those three words are said frequently in this house which makes me happy. we’ve done right in the i love you dept.

    • BipolarMomLife April 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Isn’t it the best when you hear them say it back to you? It’s got to be the most incredible thing I’ve ever heard. Every.single.time. :)

  3. Laurie Runs Life April 24, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I am with you. Just hearing I love you makes such a difference. I try hard to end every day with boys and husband by telling them I love you. I never want them to doubt the truth of those words. I can’t just know I love them, I must tell them.

    • BipolarMomLife April 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks so much Laurie – I agree with you on so many levels. :)

      Just visited your site. I’m running a 5k on May 6th too! Good luck with yours – that’s awesome that you’re doing it with your 10-yr old! I hope my kids will get interested in running as they get older. Right now, they enjoy relaxing in their double stroller while I do all the work. :)

  4. Justine April 24, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    “I love you” was important to me too until I realized that it could be said out of habit. The words themselves extend further than the emotions.

    And since that realization, I’ve looked more for actions. Words can only “do” so much.

    • BipolarMomLife April 24, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      I agree with you that saying them can become a habit, but why is that a bad thing? I remember one time I actually brought that up to my husband, years ago, and told him I thought we said it too often. He said there is nothing wrong with saying it all the time, if you mean it. To me, it’s the emotion behind the words “I love you” that has the meaning to me.

      Thank you for visiting and commenting! Looking forward to checking out your blog.

      • Laurie Runs Life April 24, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

        Yes! I don’t think it’s a habit just because you always do something. It comes down to tone and evidence of meaning, if you sound like you are just saying it, not great, but if you really mean it and can convey that-you’re winning.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

