Just Write: Making memories

29 May

Why is it that whenever we’re on a family trip, I neglect to take the pictures I so desperately want to see when I get home and download my camera’s memory card to my computer?

The past six days we spent visiting the two sides of my husband’s family. Despite the heaviness of fatigue that was pulling at my shoulders and making me ache to be in my bed sleeping off the travel, once the kids were in bed I rushed to my computer to dump my camera’s contents out so that I could see what I had collected.

My heart sank when I realized that I forgot to get a picture of my father-in-law and his brother with his mom. I missed the chance to get a picture of my husband with his grandma. I barely got any photos of my mother-in-law with her grandkids. And there weren’t any pictures of my husband’s aunt or his cousins and their kids.

Being the pessimist I am {yet wish I could say the opposite} who always tends to look at the glass half empty, I couldn’t help but wonder if that might have been our last visit with his grandma. It may have been our last chance to take pictures with her. Our last chance to see her sweet smile and hear her soft voice tell us stories about when she was a girl.

I’ll never know, but I will hold tightly onto the memories of the time we spent together this past week. I will try to think less about the pictures we forgot to take and more about the time we spent together making memories that will last in our minds as long as we can hold onto them.

5 Responses to “Just Write: Making memories”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) May 30, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    I’m the complete opposite. I’m a camera whore. It drives people nuts. However in my defense, I watched my grandpa lose his memory when he had a tumor in his brain and since I was little I was always afraid that I’d lose my memory too and forget the people I loved. So that’s where the camera came in.
    Ps. I miss you

    • BipolarMomLife May 30, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      I can relate. I have times that I’m a camera whore too. It just seems that when I’m around family, I end up not taking the pictures I wish I would have taken while we were together. I need to try to remember to think about the photos I want to get before the actual get-together so that I have a greater chance of remembering to actually taken them! I have a fear like yours from your Grandpa’s illness too, I’m always afraid of losing my memories.
      PS. Miss you more. Let’s chat soon! I’m still digging out from the laundry and my house looks like the suitcases threw up everywhere. So once I get the laundry washed and put away I’ll feel better. :)

  2. HeatherEO May 29, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Oh yes, those memories will be a part of you, photos or not! (But I get it–I forget the pictures I mean to take all the time!) Thank you for being a part of Just Write…

    Heather

    • BipolarMomLife May 30, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      Thank you Heather!! I love that you created Just Write. Each week it encourages me to work on my writing and I love that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On angel’s wings « Bipolar Mom Life - February 12, 2013

    […] trip out to Wisconsin to see her this past May. I wrote about how I was sad that I forgot to take certain pictures, but that I was so glad to have had the time together to make memories that would last longer than […]

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

