Wordless Wednesday: Down on the Farm

30 May

 {baby girl, hair blowing in the wind, on the family farm in Wisconsin}

We got home on Monday afternoon from a six-day trip to visit family in Wisconsin and Minnesota. The kids did really well overall, despite the nap-strike our son decided to go on for the first three days. Once he gave in to the rest he so desperately needed, his tantrums practically disappeared and he was a much more fun kid to be around.

We spent the first three days visiting my husband’s aunt, uncle, grandmother and cousins in a small town in Wisconsin. They live on a farm, and the kids had a blast checking out the cows and chickens, and riding on uncle’s two tractors. Then it was off to Minnesota for my husband’s cousins’ wedding which was just lovely. It was very hot – had to have been 95 during the ceremony which was in a beautiful park beside a lake – but it was a short service and then it was over to the restaurant for the reception in the A/C.

I must admit, I was kindof definitely not looking forward to traveling with two kids under the age of 4, but it was such a fun trip that I can say now that I’m not as scared of these types of family vacations anymore. That being said, we did fly, and only had to drive the 4 hours between Wisconsin and Minneapolis, which was not bad at all. Our family beach reunion in August {in Hilton Head, SC} is going to be a completely different story given the fact that we cannot afford to buy 3 plane tickets so we’re driving the 10 hours {that’s not including any stops, which I’m sure we’ll have to make one at the very least for a bathroom break}. For that trip we are planning on driving through the night so that {fingers crossed} the kids will sleep for most of it.

I’m just glad that we had a good trip and got to see family who we only usually see once a year {if we’re lucky}. Wish I would have taken more pictures looking back, but there’s always next time. Now I just need to dig out from 7 loads of dirty laundry. This should only take a few days…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

{Also linking up with And Then-She Snapped, The Paper Mama and Baby Baby Lemon!}

9 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday: Down on the Farm”

  1. Liz May 31, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    What a beautiful shot!! Her hair is gorgeous.

    • BipolarMomLife June 1, 2012 at 8:28 am #

      Thank you!! Let’s hope the curls stick around, and that she doesn’t flat-iron them out when she gets older {like her mama does}. :) Thanks for visiting!

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) May 31, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Those curls are scrumptious.
    I think our worry is far worse than the actual event!
    I’m glad that everything went well.
    We take the Chunk man on an 8 hour trek to a campground. It’s not as bad as we always worry it will be :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 1, 2012 at 8:27 am #

      Thanks, hun! I tend to always over-stress about things. Glad I was able to relax and enjoy most of the trip. It’s good to be home though. There’s no place like home, imo.

  3. NV May 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    What a cuttie. Looks like my little one from behind.

    nadiavenusphotography.blogspot.com

    • BipolarMomLife June 1, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Yes, she does!! I just saw your WW picture ~ so cute! Thanks for visiting :)

  4. Raising Paityn (@RaisingPaityn) May 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Sounds like a lot of fun! The getting there and getting home can sometimes be challenging, but I think the fun in between makes it all worth it.

    • BipolarMomLife June 1, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      You are so right! The fun in between was worth it all. For sure. Thanks for visiting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On angel’s wings « Bipolar Mom Life - February 12, 2013

    […] I was grateful for our last trip out to Wisconsin to see her this past May. I wrote about how I was sad that I forgot to take […]

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

