Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday: I love pinning

2 Jun

I freaking love Pinterest.

Oh, Pinterest. Let me count the ways.

First off, it is my number one method for boredom busting. Not that I have much free time on my hands to actually be bored. It’s just that sometimes, I happen to enjoy browsing around on Pinterest for neat ideas that I wouldn’t have found if I were just sitting around reading a book, for example.

I mean, can you imagine?

I also love Pinterest because it is inspiring. I’ve found a ton of cool {and free!} sewing patterns and projects ~ a few of which I’ve actually used to make gifts for friends {and stuff for myself, too}. I’m a novice sewer, but when I’m in the mood to sew up something fun, I just look at my Sewing Projects board to find some inspiration and then I’m off! Ten hours later I’ve usually been able to create something with a slight resemblance to the project I pinned.

I heart Pinterest because it helps me stay motivated and on track with my fitness and healthy eating goals. Now, I know what you’re thinking. There are TONS and TONS of chocolate and various other dessert recipes floating around on Pinterest. You’re right. There are. And back when I first joined the site, I totally fell into the trap of trying out all the recipes of those incredibly mouth-watering desserts in the photos. But you know what? After I stuffed one too many single-serve chocolate cakes into my mouth, I looked at my reflection in the mirror one day and realized I wasn’t happy with how I looked. So from then on, I made the decision to stop pinning {and baking} all those unhealthy desserts and snacks. I started to get myself back in shape and when I was craving something naughty, I’d search for healthy dessert recipes. And I found them. And tried them. And LOVE some of them. To keep myself from not getting bored with my workouts, I also search Pinterest for new exercises. There are tons of fitness blogs and healthy eating blogs out there and I have found some really awesome ones via pins.

It’s fun to stalk people via their Pinterest boards. It’s amazing to me that Pinterest, given how incredibly popular the site is, hasn’t created a setting so that a user can make a pin private. I recently noticed a girlfriend of mine through book club was pinning baby girl nursery ideas. She has a son a few months younger than mine, but no baby girl. I immediately wondered if she was expecting. Saw her about a month later and whaddya know, she was knocked up {but didn’t know the gender yet since it was way early, and wasn’t publicizing the news either}. Turns out she just learned that she is carrying a baby girl! YAY! So now she can put her pins to good use. Point of the story: don’t pin anything you wouldn’t want your friends to know or wonder about.

I sometimes get my Jesus on by reading a friend’s Quotes board. I’m not a highly religious person, but I do believe in God and Jesus and heaven. My friend is a Christian and her pins always make me feel so full of faith when I read them. I end up re-pinning so many of the things she pins there, I’m starting to think I should start a separate board on my wall for Faith Quotes.

If I ever need a unique gift idea ~ baby shower, wedding gift, housewarming gift, anniversary gift, birthday gift ~ any holiday, for that matter ~ I’ve been turning to Pinterest. One of the coolest ideas I’ve found {and cannot wait to try come August} is to tie a picture with a special recollection from your relationship to the ribbon on a helium balloon. Float the balloons in a room and surprise your loved one with a collection of memories that you can enjoy reliving for the occasion. Or, tie a love letter to each balloon, like this blogger did. Maybe I’ll save this idea and write my hubby a love letter for each month leading up to our 10th anniversary in 2013. In any regard, clever idea, huh?

So there you have it, folks. My confession of why I love Pinterest. Don’t get me wrong, there are some things I don’t like about this additional time-sucker of a web application, but I will say, I love way more things about it than I dislike.


Therefore, I will pin on. And on. And on. And on.

 

Something Something Button

2 Responses to “Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday: I love pinning”

  1. Jill @ Mommy Inconsistent June 8, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    Finally getting around to catching up on my fave blogs…

    I’m with you (as you know) LOVE Pinterest and cannot understand why some people don’t like it and get discouraged and angry by all of the beautiful things that I guess they they think they can’t achieve! I find it soooo inspiring and a lot of times it’s easy to make something look expensive when it’s really not.

    From one pinning addict to another….Keep on Pinning! :)

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) June 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I am a total addict too. When I was gonig through the GB issues I was pinning a lot of veggetarian meals…now I’m on the hunt for the greasiest hamburger recipes I can find :)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

