Five Things Friday: My favorite things about summer

8 Jun

Now that it’s officially summer, I’ve been thinking about what makes it my favorite season. Here are the reasons, in no particular order:

  1. Fresh fruits and veggies from the farmer’s market and the farm we bought a CSA {Community Supported Agriculture} crop share from. I love making healthy summer salads and breakfasts with ripe berries that we just picked off the vines. Summer just tastes so fresh.

  2. Spending time at the pool. Be it our neighborhood pool, or the kiddie pool my husband fills up in the backyard before he leaves for work so that it won’t be super cold for the kids, I love them both equally. Our kids were pretty much born with fins and gills, so they could stay in the water for hours if it weren’t for taking breaks to eat. I’m looking forward to seeing them take swim lessons with the lifeguards this summer. They both took lessons from January through May at a local swim school, but since we’ll be spending so much time at our outdoor pool, I cancelled their classes until fall. I can’t wait to be a swim team mom some day.

  3. FREE Outdoor Concerts! We’re so lucky to live in an area filled with so many young families. There are several neighborhoods in our close vicinity which put on free outdoor concerts where you can picnic and bring your own beverages. So far we’ve been to two already and the summer has just begun. It’s such a nice way to unwind and relax after a long week. And a great way to kick-off the weekend, too!

     

  4. Fro-yo! We have an awesome frozen yogurt shop down the street from our house and I am just in love with their yogurt. You can go in and sample as many as you like before deciding {and they always have 10 different flavors on tap which rotate constantly, so chances are you haven’t tried them all yet, although I’m close!} and then there is a toppings bar with fresh fruit, candies, and nuts. Plus more toppings are in dispensers on the walls. They make waffle and cake cups fresh throughout the day too, although I try to stay away from the extra calories there. The best part about this place is that they have a loyalty program where after you buy 10 fro-yos, you get one free! We probably go once a week as a treat for the kids, and I’m sure we’ll go more in the summer. It’s such a fun family activity, plus, oh so yummy!
  5. The beach. My absolute favorite place on earth is the beach. I love the feel of grainy sand between my toes, the hot sun on my face, and the smell of the salty air and coconut tanning lotion everywhere. We try every summer to get to the beach for at least a long weekend, if not a week if we can swing the cost. This summer we’re lucky enough to be able to do a long weekend with my best friend and her husband and two boys, in addition to an entire week with my mom’s side of the family {aunts, uncles, cousins and all the grandkids ~ there are 27 of us all together in two houses!} in August. To me, there is nothing more peaceful than watching the waves roll in while relaxing in a beach chair. It will be our daughter’s second trip and we are so excited to see her dig her little piggies into the sand again! {While her brother dumps salt water on her head, most likely.}

What are your favorite things about summer?

One Response to “Five Things Friday: My favorite things about summer”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) June 10, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Your descriptions of these are beautiful. I’m a sun hog and love the beach. We are really lucky to have numerous ones around us. It’s a nice retreat from the chaos.
    I also love buy local fruits and vegetables. We pick ours up in the county. They’re fresher than the ones you get at the grocery store…the overpriced underripe ones….bleh

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

