Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday

9 Jun

I shot a real gun and thought I was pretty bad-ass, but in reality it scared the bejeezus out of me.

My brother and his wife live in South Florida, about thirty minutes away from where my parents live. He lives in what I would consider to be a nice neighborhood. But yet, he doesn’t feel safe. So he took it upon himself to take a gun course, buy a handgun, and learn to shoot.

I cannot say I was thrilled when I heard this. But my dad has taken up the hobby with him, and they go to the shooting range together so it makes me a little more accepting of it since it’s something they are doing together.

And I know that he has taken all the standard precautions: hours of safety training with a licensed instructor, a safe with a combination that only he and his wife know, and regular practice at the range.

But still, it’s a gun. In their home.

In my opinion, if you feel unsafe where you live, well then, you shouldn’t be living there. Sell your house and move to someplace where you are comfortable. Somewhere you can watch your kids play in the cul-de-sac and not worry about their well-being.

I wish it were that easy for them. Unfortunately, the state of the real estate market is making it next to impossible for them to be able to sell right now. So they’re staying put for the time being and are taking the steps they feel they needed to take so that they aren’t held hostage by their anxieties in their own home.

Two weeks ago there was a shooting on their street. A domestic dispute led a woman to shoot her boyfriend. I don’t know whether he died or he made it, but does it matter? I was shocked when my brother told me about it. But it just goes to show that he has a valid concern for his family’s safety.

When my husband and I were down in Florida visiting after Christmas this year, my brother offered to take us to the shooting range. My dad came too, and my mom stayed home to watch our little ones.

The range was in a small strip mall, on the side of the highway about forty minutes from my parent’s house. I noticed as we drove there that there we passed several other ranges on the way. I never realized how prominent gun ranges were before.

Watching my younger brother with his gun locked in his black Glock backpack step out of his car and into the store was kindof surreal. {My dad is more traditional and carries his gun in a locked safe box in a leather carry-on bag.} We showed ID’s and signed in at the front desk and then proceeded to enter the doors to the range. I wasn’t prepared for how loud it was. Even with the ear protection I was wearing, I jumped about three feet in the air when someone four lanes down shot at their target.

To say I was nervous was a complete understatement. My dad had prepped my husband and I on the way over so that we’d have a chance to ask questions before hand if we had any. I was listening when he went over everything, but wasn’t able to make much sense of it until we actually got in there and started shooting. My brother set up his target {a zombie pizza delivery guy who was oozing slime ~ a fun thing to shoot at} and sent it back about fifteen feet. He took some shots and then brought the target back for us to see how he did. I was impressed. He really knows his stuff, I thought.

Then it was my turn. He showed me how to hold the gun, how to load the magazine, how to snap it back so that it is ready to fire, and lastly, how to aim and shoot at my target.

“What are you aiming for?” he asked, as I steadied to take my first round of shots.

“His junk.”

And I did pretty good. For a first timer. Got pretty close to putting a hole in his crotch. Felt like a hot shot. {no pun intended}

I shot three more rounds and my husband took a few turns before we sat back and watched my dad and brother finish with their ammo. After about an hour we called it a night and headed home.

That was the very first and {most likely} last time I will shoot a gun.

I think it’s something everyone should do at least once in their lifetime, so as to gain a perspective on what our law enforcement and military personnel do on a day-to-day basis to protect us and our country. And I don’t think there is anything wrong with owning a handgun so long as a person has taken the proper training and safety measures locking it up at home. But for me, it just didn’t feel right.

Life is so precious and I am too scared of what could happen because of a gun.

Have you ever gone shooting?

Something Something Button

3 Responses to “Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday”

  1. Jill @ Mommy Inconsistent June 12, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    Nope, I’ve never shot a gun…well, just of the water variety. I can pack a mean water gun. I don’t even want my boys to play guns. My oldest has never been interested…Cars are his passion. My youngest is more inclined to pretend. I even go so far as to call the water guns, “water shooters”…somehow I think that sounds better, but it doesn’t.

    Oh, and I like how you answered you were aiming for “his junk”….that’s hilarious.

    • BipolarMomLife June 12, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      I love that ~ water shooters! I need to teach my little man to call them that. Great idea! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My reflections on the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary « Bipolar Mom Life - December 16, 2012

    […] I began thinking back on this post from June where I wrote about how I felt the night my husband and I went to the shooting range with […]

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

