Just Write: the kiddie pool on Sunday

12 Jun

The air was hot and a little humid, but not sticky. My husband had filled up the kid’s baby pool before we left for church, so when the kids and I got in after they awoke from their naps it was nice and warm. Almost {but not quite with its large attached semi-inflated slide} like a hot tub but without those relaxing bubbles.

Well, I take that back. We did have bubbles, but not coming up out of the water. These were the good old regular soap bubbles from a wand and a plastic container with a screw on cap.  My daughter squealed with joy as the first few bubbles shot out of the circular wand and into the air. She reached for them with such joy and excitement, it was contagious. Before I knew it, my son was begging me to blow “More, Mommy! More! I want to catch them!”

Of course I wasn’t going to let either of them down. I puffed on the magic bubble wand each time it came out of the container of bubble solution, hoping each time to create more round rainbow spheres than the last time. Their eyes were so full of amazement as they followed the trail of floating globes until they either popped in mid air or landed in the water we were lounging in.

As I softly let my breath create this special treat for my two angels, I had this extraordinary feeling of peace wash over me, as if someone from up above was telling me that this is what life is all about: experiencing the thrill of something so simple as bubbles through the eyes of your children. I felt such comfort in knowing that I am truly content in what I am so lucky to have been blessed with ~ this family my husband and I have created.

4 Responses to “Just Write: the kiddie pool on Sunday”

  1. Andrea June 18, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I love those moments. Sometimes if I am having a bad day, I do the same thing, just enjoy the simple things in life & it somehow makes me feel soo much better. I always say that too, that I feel peaceful in those moments. Great post :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 18, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Thanks so much, Andrea! I’ve been struggling these past few days enjoying the little moments, since there seem to be so many more difficult ones throughout the day, you know? I’m hoping it’s just PMS and I’ll get over it soon ~ this funk needs to go away so that I can get back to cherishing the moments I love with my kids.

      PS. Just read through your recent posts and want to wish you all the best as you work on conceiving baby #2. It’s a brave thing you are doing, and I can see from your reading that you’re doing everything you can to be prepared which will make all the difference. Hugs, mama!

  2. Salem Archer Anderson {gray daisies} June 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    I love those moments too! In fact, I wrote about the same type of moment for just write this week! Great minds think alike, right?! :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 12, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      That is so cool~ we definitely do think alike. :) Loved your post, too! The pictures were so artsy and cool.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

