This amazing community: Thank you Jill

15 Jun

I wrote a few weeks ago about how challenging potty training has been with our son. There were times when I would yell, times when I would cry, and times when I would just have to leave the kids with my husband to go for a run and escape it all.

Before we even got into potty training, I knew it was going to be a very difficult time for our family. Our son had been exhibiting signs of encopresis for months before we decided to just go for it and put him in underpants for a week. I think it had something to do with the fact that he had been put back in daycare when I went back to work before his sister was born, and he didn’t feel comfortable enough to poop at school. So he’d hold it in, so much so that one day I was called at work and they needed me to pick him up because he was experiencing terrible stomach pain and they couldn’t figure out what to do. I knew what to do immediately when I picked him up: I took him straight to the ER.

Potty training went amazingly well at first, but then after a few months he regressed and started holding in his poops again. I wanted to nip it in the bud instead of letting it go on too long, so I started researching things on my own. And venting about my frustrations on this blog.

That’s where Jill comes in. She responded to my original post on the subject, and offered to send me these two books which helped her navigate potty training and similar issues with her older son. At first I thanked her for the suggestions and tried finding the books at the library. They weren’t there, and we started having some success again, so I put it in the back of my mind and we forged on.

A few weeks later I was at my wits end again. I reached out to Jill via email and she offered to mail me the books again. I couldn’t tell you how relieved and appreciative I was for her generosity. The books arrived and ever since, my son has had zero accidents and is going #2 on the potty once and sometimes twice a day! {We even had a record-breaking 3 times in one day!} He asks to read the book before each nap and before bedtime. It has been a life-saver and I would recommend both books to any parent who is struggling with encopresis or just potty-training in general.

They are: “It Hurts When I Poop” by Howard J. Bennett, M.D. and “Constipation, Withholding and Your Child” by Anthony Cohn.

But this post is not really about the books. It’s about how when I started this blog I never imagined how many people I would reach, and how many wonderful, caring, and supportive women I would meet. I am so thankful for the friendships I have made through writing and putting myself out there. These are women who truly care about others, and who want to make a difference in the lives of people they meet. These are people I am proud to call friends.

Check out Jill’s blog when you have a chance. She’s hilarious, insightful, and just plain real. I am forever grateful for what she has done for us, and hope to pass on the books to someone in need of them once we’re through this milestone we call potty-training.

Mommy Inconsistent
Thank you, Jill. You are a life-saver. And I owe you one. ;)
3 Responses to “This amazing community: Thank you Jill”

  1. Jill @ Mommy Inconsistent June 16, 2012 at 3:35 am #

    Yaaaay!! I am soooo happy for you & your ‘lil dude. And it happened so fast! That’s amazing! You guys should go celebrate! I really think everything happens for a reason and people come into our lives for a reason, a season or a lifetime. I’m glad I could help. One of the reasons I like blogging so much and connecting with other moms is because I find it fascinating that we really all do go through pretty much the same things and it’s always comforting to know we’re not alone in this parenting gig…the hardest job I’ve ever had, that’s for sure. (It’s cheap therapy too!) Reading your original post, I just really felt for you and what you were going through because, as I’ve told you before, I went through the same roller-coaster of emotions that you were going through. And I know how good you feel now too!

    I hope you’re little man continues to master that potty! My son has held it a couple times this week…(I cannot go through this again)…I made him sit on the potty and thankfully he went. I’ll have to get to the bottom of this (haha, like the pun?) One thing I’ve learned (mostly the hard way) is that you can’t make a kid eat, poop or sleep. It sucks, but it’s true.

    Give your ‘lil guy a big high-5 from me!!

    • BipolarMomLife June 16, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Thank you so much, Jill! I am holding my breath, but so far, so good. We’ve even been having success during travel, which to me speaks volumes. Last night my dad read the poop book to him before bed. It was so funny to hear my dad reading it, and my son corrected him if he got words wrong during the story.

      You are so right about us all being in this together. I think it is so cool that you reached out to me when you read that I was struggling and I’m so thankful to Kim for connecting us, because I don’t know that I would have found you if it weren’t for Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturdays. :) Thanks Kim!!

  2. Melissa Westwood Berry June 15, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    I completely understand your situation with encopresis. We dealt with it for a long time and found out it was food allergies causing his issues. I love that some one was able to reach out to you and help. I have already been to her blog and can’t wait to read more of it!

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

