WW: Daddy’s girl

20 Jun

This is the dance we shared on my wedding day, almost nine years ago. I chose the song “Butterfly Kisses” by Bob Carlisle and my Daddy surprised me with a big screen playing a slide show DVD of images from my childhood up through college graduation. I choked back tears the whole time, but as hard as I tried to keep it together, I wasn’t able to make it through the dance with dry cheeks. It was the most special thing anyone has ever done for me.

I have always been a Daddy’s girl. And I will always be. I love my father fiercely. There is no one in this world who better understands me than my dad. Probably because I inherited my mother’s Type A personality and tendency to go from calm to super irritable and –  dare I say? – bitchy {sorry, Mom, but you know that’s how we get sometimes}  in mere seconds.

Anyway, when I first got sick, it rocked his world.

I know this because I have read his account of what happened when I had to be hospitalized.

I asked him to write it it down for me and as difficult it must have been for him to honor my request, to go back deep {because I’m fairly certain he had buried it away} in his memory and relive it, he did it.

It starts with, “How your world can change with a simple phone call.” and he goes on to document what happened on the night that I called him when he and my mom were at a dinner party with their friends, while I was going completely manic on the other end of the phone, over a thousand miles away.

I’m planning on including it in my memoir. I think it would be incredibly valuable, coming from a different perspective than just the person experiencing the episodes of bipolar disorder.

This is what is on my mind on this Wordless{ful} Wednesday. How much I love my father and how he means the world to me.

xoxo

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

{Also linking up with Live and Love Outloud, The Paper Mama and Baby Baby Lemon!}

2 Responses to “WW: Daddy’s girl”

  1. Tina June 20, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    What a neat post. I am sure that was difficult for your Dad to do. My Dad was present when I went through my break with reality during psychosis. My Dad never cries…and that made him cry.

    • BipolarMomLife June 22, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      Thanks so much, Tina! Yes, I’m sure it was extremely difficult for my Dad to write for me. I remember feeling so awful about putting my parents through the initial episodes, but it wasn’t anything that was within my control. They were, and continue to be, so supportive; I know I’m very lucky.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

