Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday

23 Jun

I am, quite easily, the world’s worst cook. And yet, I still try my darndest to do it because I’m a little embarrassed that my husband is ten million times better in the kitchen than I am.

Case in point: yesterday morning I went along my happy way, despite the fact that Little Man had woken me up at 5:45AM, looking up a recipe online for a whole wheat pancake mix from scratch since we were out of my favorite 7-grain mix that I usually use. Found a perfectly good recipe and set off about the kitchen, gathering up the ingredients I needed which we happened to have on hand.

Maybe it was due to being up at the ass-crack of dawn, but I doubt that I would have followed the recipe correctly if it had been 7am versus 6am. It called for 6 cups of whole wheat flour, 2 Tbs baking powder, 2 Tbs baking soda, 2 tsp salt and 1/3 cup sugar. I decided to half the recipe, measuring out only 3 cups of flour. I was letting Little Man help with the measuring, and we followed the rest of the recipe to a T, unfortunately for us.

When I took a bite of the first pancake off the griddle, I immediately knew what we had done wrong. Oops. Even with the amount of sugar for the full recipe, the double baking soda and powder was apparent. Nothing quite like bitter tasting pancakes first thing in the morning to wake up your taste buds. Bleck!

Thank goodness I had added a decent-sized handful of dark chocolate chips to each one before I flipped them over. Otherwise, I would have had to throw out the whole batch of 4 gigantic cakes that we had cooked up. I added more flour to the mix that remained, so that the early morning cooking effort wasn’t completely wasted.

My cooking tip of the day: chocolate just makes everything better. No matter how bad of a cook you may be. ;)

Something Something Button

7 Responses to “Secret Mommy-hood Confession Saturday”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) June 24, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    I cannot make pancakes. Can’t.
    Can’t make bacon either.
    But I can screw your tastebuds with a good lasagna.
    Weird right?

    • BipolarMomLife June 25, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      I’ve only recently tried making lasagna. So many steps and layers – kinda stressed me out, but it was yummy! Pancakes are way easier. When you measure the ingredients correctly. :)

  2. anonymousmomma June 24, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    Must remember to pick up a bag of chocolate chips! I ain’t the best cook either :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 24, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      YES! Definitely pick one up next time you’re at the store. I like the dark chocolate chips. I’ve convinced myself that they’re healthier. ;)

  3. the mommy padawan June 23, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Awesome tip and I agree – chocolate makes everything better, no matter what! I’m not a great cook either, gotten better over time but I think making the effort counts for a lot :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 24, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks, Anna! I agree, that is why I continue to make the effort. My poor family will just have to suffer through it. :)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

