Books for a rainy day

12 Mar

One more hour and the kids will be home for the day. I should be working, but yet I find myself drawn to the pen and my notebook. Needing to write.

This morning after dropping them off at daycare in the pouring rain, their little raincoats slick with wetness from the sky, I drove over to volunteer at my son’s preschool book fair. I love this church school, feel so at home here.

I quickly learn the cash register and ring up several orders of cute kids books, casually chatting with each parent as they pay for their order.

My half-hour shift is over quickly. The rain is coming down in buckets now, and I can’t help but notice as I peek into the classrooms, how cozy and safe it feels. I love that this is my son’s home here three days a week in the afternoon. His first school experience is so filled with love and smiles.

And books. Lots and lots of books.

As I pack up to head home, I ring up one last sale. I couldn’t leave without buying a few new reads for my little ones. My little book lovers.

1-photo(14)

10 Responses to “Books for a rainy day”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) March 13, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    When Chunky took naps, we read all the time. Now that he’s in school we admittedly do it less often. I’ll catch him in the hallway with a book open and making words up with the story…and pinpointing the words he does know…which is awesome.

    • BipolarMomLife March 15, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      My son does the same thing! Isn’t it so cute?! I sometimes grab my ipad and sneak up on him taking a video, trying to capture those little moments is fun for me.

  2. MC March 13, 2013 at 5:59 am #

    I love books and I’m trying to get my kids into them too. I think it’s very important to introduce them to reading and books early :) So far I’m doing good.

    • BipolarMomLife March 13, 2013 at 7:23 am #

      I agree, Meril! It’s funny how the more you you read to them, the more they want you to keep reading. I love it!

  3. schnooter March 12, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    My kids love Pete the Cat! It’s such a cute book :) Thanks for stopping by today!

    • BipolarMomLife March 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Mine do too now! And I love that it helps my baby girl learn her colors. White, red, blue and brown at least! :)

  4. Mia March 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    I used to read to my children every day when they were children. They knew some of the stories so well that they would say the words even before I could read them. Books are precious! Over via Heather’s.
    Much love
    Mia

    • BipolarMomLife March 12, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      Hi Mia! Thanks for stopping by. I know what you mean! My son does that now (he’s 4). And if we mis-read a sentence, he corrects us. Hilarious! I love reading with them. We spent an hour this afternoon reading through the books I brought home. Except I saved the Lego one for my little man to read with his Dad tonight at bedtime.

  5. museconfuse March 12, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Pete the Cat is really calling out to me but that could be because yellow is my favorite color.

    • BipolarMomLife March 12, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

      I’ve heard the book at a children’s book store reading, but we didn’t have it so I thought it would be fun to read to the kids. I’m so excited to share these new stories with them!

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

