Happy Birthday, G! {Wordless/Wordful Wednesday}

20 Mar

NewSwimSchool3

 

Back when “Don’t Carpe Diem” went viral via Glennon Doyle Melton’s blog Momastery and the Huffington Post, I spent the next week staying up late every night, reading the archives of her blog and I’m so glad I did.

She is one hell of a writer who I had the pleasure of meeting randomly last year at our local swim school. After helping my son pull on his goggles and ushering him off to his swim coach, I went to sit down in the parent’s viewing room with my 2-yr old daughter and looked to my left as a pretty mom was about to sit down in the empty seat next to us.

In a surprised (and almost giddy) voice I said, “Are you Glennon?” knowing the answer before she even had a chance to reply.

“Why yes, yes I am!” she replied with a warm smile.

“I’ve read your blog!” I said cautiously, not sure whether or not I should admit to how much of a huge fan I was of her writing. “I love it.” Realizing later I could have said, “I’ve read your life,” that is how incredibly honest she is.

We talked for the next twenty-five minutes while our kids swam (hers crying through the lesson mostly.) And she hugged me when we said goodbye.

I called one of my best friends, Stephanie, on the way home because I couldn’t contain my shock and excitement.

 

Happy 37th Birthday, G. You are inspiring, uplifting, brave, brutally honest, and hands-down, one of my favorite writers. Carry On, Warrior!

 

+ The Paper Mama,Β Live and Love Out LoudΒ & Baby Baby Lemon

11 Responses to “Happy Birthday, G! {Wordless/Wordful Wednesday}”

  1. Shelly April 2, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    I’m jealous! I love momastery and Glennon! I have attempted to read all of the back posts on her blog but can’t spend too much time due to grad school…I’m keeping up with each latest post. Got to see her on the Today show this morning. I repeat her mantras all the time.

    • BipolarMomLife April 2, 2013 at 6:02 am #

      If you have time, try searching “picnic” on her blog’s search box and read that post. It’s one of my favorites. I get to see her tonight at her book signing for the start of her book tour! Her book is going to be awesome, I’m sure.

      • Shelly April 2, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

        she’s going to be in Minnesota the end of April but I have class that night…so bummed :(

      • BipolarMomLife April 2, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

        Saw her tonight at her book tour kick-off & signing party and she gave a brief talk before the signing began. If the quality is decent from my phone video recording, I may try to upload it to YouTube and I’ll email you the link. She’s pretty incredible. The book is going to be amazing, can’t wait to start reading.

      • Shelly April 2, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        that would be so awesome! thanks

  2. Ollie McKays March 21, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    Love this photo – it’s filled with sunshine!! Such a cute cute little guy! Wishing you sunshine today and every day! Have a great Thursday!

    • BipolarMomLife March 21, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Thanks, Ollie!! You too! And thank you for visiting. :)

  3. Judy Fryer March 20, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    one of those magical moments! Glad for you.

    • BipolarMomLife March 20, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      You defined it perfectly. It truly was magical. Thank you, Judy!

  4. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) March 20, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    I think that would probably be the most awesome thing to just run into a blogger you adore. This world is truly smaller than we all think ;)

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

