After: Five Minute Friday {3}

5 Apr

5MinFriAfterBML

I frequently think of my life as either before or after. As in, before I got sick and after I was diagnosed. When I look at picture from my life taken around that time, I can always tell if the particular photo’s event happened before or after by looking at how my eyes smile. I can’t say that I like before or after better or worse than the other, because they are both just different times in my life. Struggles were different after. The importance of sleep was different after. Friendships stayed the same, for the most part, but some became even stronger after because they knew and still stood by me.

I am at the point right now where I can finally say that I like the person I’ve become after. 

Five Minute Friday

Today my 3rd post for WhatToExpect.com’s Word of Mom Blog went up!         Pop on over and check out why I sometimes dread sleeping.

18 Responses to “After: Five Minute Friday {3}”

  1. Martha Grimm Brady April 6, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    bipolar mom,
    i’m your neighbor. tho’t i wrote a comment on friday, but i guess i didn’t. am out of town househunting for our upcoming move. loved your post!

    reminds me of changes that have been difficult to adjust to but have been life-changing just the same. blessings as you face your future with courage…and carrying you on the days you don’t have it! thanks for letting me visit. martha

    • BipolarMomLife April 7, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      Thank you so much, Martha! Your support is so important to me. Thank you!

  2. postpartumandpigtails April 6, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Love this post and I love what you said about liking who you are now. I am so glad that you are at the point where you can say this. I am there now too and it is such an amazing feeling.

    Happy for you!!

    • BipolarMomLife April 7, 2013 at 11:12 am #

      Thank you so much, Andrea! Yes, it is such an amazing feeling, isn’t it? We’re well, we’re healthy and we’re happy. So much to celebrate and be grateful for. xoxo

  3. amypboyd April 5, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Yes there is such a difference in the before and after being diagnosed with a mental issue. Just to have someone validate that there is something going on can change you in a mighty way, Thank you for sharing you journey with us.

    • BipolarMomLife April 5, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      I’m so glad to have made a positive impact, Amy! Thank you for visiting.

  4. Jenn April 5, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    I understand that being bipolar is quite the challenge. I know someone who has “a baby dose” of it but whose daughter is full blown (with lots of other issues to go along with it). It’s good that you address it and are honest about it. But especially your last sentence, that’s a huge statement. Kudos to you!

    Thanks, Jenn

  5. Genevieve Thul @ Turquoise Gates April 5, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I have a “before” and “after”, too – and the “after” seems just as hard as the “before”! For me, it was borderline personality disorder. I distinctly remember reading the diagnostic criteria for this mental disorder, and I felt like I was reading a script of my life from the time of my abuse as a child to the present. I am thankful for the explanation – but the work to make the “after” BETTER than the “before” is exhausting. 3 years in, and I think I am just beginning. My prayers will be with you. I love that you can say you finally LIKE the person you are “after”. Praying that will be me soon!!

    • BipolarMomLife April 5, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

      It will be you, Genevieve. I promise. Just keep working through it. Thank you for reading & sharing with me, too. xo

  6. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 5, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    I like you too.
    There are photos that my husband and I cannot stand because of my eyes. You can see the pain in them.

    • BipolarMomLife April 5, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      I can see the pain and sadness in mine from back then, too. It hurts, but then I think of how far I’ve come since then and I’m able to appreciate the way the pain allowed me to grow and change.

      I like you too, Kim. xoxo

  7. Sarah April 5, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    I’m just lucky to know both the before and after!

  8. richelle @ "our wright"-ing pad April 5, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    i love how you point out that before and after don’t have to be better and worse… just different. so true!

    • BipolarMomLife April 5, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Thank you, Richelle! That’s truly how it feels – the two times in my life are just different. And I am different, too. Thank you for visiting!

  9. shortybear April 5, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    May you be sweetly blessed.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

