Wedded Bliss

9 Apr

SunriseWeddingDress_BML

{image by Stacey Windsor Photography}

This August, my husband and I will have been married for 10 years. Ten years of wedded bliss. Well, if you consider the roller coaster ride of being married to someone who struggles with bipolar disorder to be blissful, then yeah, I guess you could call it that. For better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health.

There obviously was no way he could have known. My illness conveniently broke through the surface after we had only been married for two years and four months. It threatened to tear us apart. But, instead of letting it knock down the little life we were building together, we used it as an opportunity to grow together. Stronger. Closer. Richer.

One day at a time.

On August 30th, 2013, those days will equal ten years. Best 10 years of my life.    By far.

My friend Stacey, a very talented photographer in the DC area, asked me recently if I’d be willing to get back into my wedding gown for some pictures so she could build her portfolio. I jumped at the opportunity, especially since this year is a big anniversary for us. We had planned on shooting down by the Cherry Blossoms in downtown DC, but the Cherry Blossom 10-miler was this past Sunday, the same day we had scheduled the pictures. We would have to find an alternative spot.

Hair and Makeup ladies arrived at my house at 4:30am on the dot, and within an hour I was transformed from sleepy mom to elegant bride, complete with airbrushed skin and side-swept cascading curls. I slipped on my dress and we headed downtown to find a spot where Stacey could snap away. We ended up taking a bunch of photos on Teddy Roosevelt Island which was such a perfect consolation location. Then we headed over towards Gravelley Point Park, but ended up stopping along the GW Parkway to shoot in a daffodil field and under some weeping willows. By that point we had met up with my husband, the kids, my sister-in-law and my in-laws. It was a frigid morning, but one I will never forgot. It was an incredible feeling to be a bride again for a morning.

My husband watching, smiling at me posing for pictures, was the icing on the anniversary cake.

One word frees us of all the weight and pain of life. That word is love.

– Sophocles

12 Responses to “Wedded Bliss”

  1. weakestreed April 11, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I love how you made it clear how difficult it’s been but also pictured so clearly the love you both have for each other. We just passed 9 years and I know how much work and love this takes. Congratulations!

    • BipolarMomLife April 11, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      It has been a very difficult journey, that’s for sure. But I wouldn’t change a thing. It has made me stronger and my husband and I are even more connected and devoted to each other than we ever were before. Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

  2. missiontomilf April 10, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Happy 10 years! What a great way to mark the occasion. You never know what life will bring, that’s why those vows are so important. Exactly 3 months after Doug and I were married my father passed away suddenly at the age of 58. Talk about a rough first year! For a solid 12 months I battled my own demons, and it actually took me a few years to even feel like myself. That was my first bout with my own anxiety and depression. But you heal and deal and you face the storm together. It only makes you stronger and wiser and your bond that much deeper.

    • BipolarMomLife April 11, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks so much, Shan! I love this: ‘you heal and deal and you face the storm together’. How TRUE! I wouldn’t have been able to get through it without Ben. He’s my rock and my strength when I feel weak. We’ve got some keepers, you and I. xoxo

  3. Nicole Moseley April 9, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    It is really good as a bipolar individual to hear of such success. I’ve struggled to maintain a relationship and I’m 35 years old. This is one of the longest ones I’ve been in and has lasted 6 months. Still going strong, but I have the suspicions my boyfriend may be bipolar as well. Anyhow, good post. Hope you had fun!

    • BipolarMomLife April 9, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      Thanks, Nicole! Believe me, I’ve had my share of ups and downs. Thank you for reading.

  4. Judy Fryer April 9, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    PS You were/are, lol, a beautiful bride…..love the gorgeous dress.

    • BipolarMomLife April 9, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you so much, Judy! I cannot tell you how much it means to me to have your wonderful support. Thank you for reading and for being one of my biggest cheerleaders. :)

  5. Judy Fryer April 9, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Ahhh beautiful….making lasting memories….I am in awe after your difficulties…it takes courage, strength, devotion, patience, understanding, unconditional love and much more. Sooo happy for you…and the best is yet to come.

  6. Kat@Seeking Sanity April 9, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    Success stories. I love to hear them. Congratulations to you and your hubby, and Happy Anniversary!
    And yes, what a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary! :) Beautiful!

    • BipolarMomLife April 9, 2013 at 11:58 am #

      Thank you so much, Kat! It was a fun day, that’s for sure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My love anchor | Bipolar Mom Life - August 30, 2013

    […] woke up before anyone else in the house did on my wedding day. It was six o’clock and my nerves had driven me to the bathroom. Back in bed, I pretended to go […]

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

