Comfort: Five Minute Friday {6}

10 May

Mother'sDayComfort_BML

COMFORT

Back then, newly sick and with the fear of a mental illness diagnosis looming over my head, there were few things that brought me comfort.

 

One that was the most strong was her love

and her continued fight

to get me back to well.

 

There were so many tears back then. But we were able to smile when we were together for pictures, even if it sometimes felt forced. Behind the smiles there was silent suffering.

 

No matter what, she never stopped trying to comfort me. To ease my pain. To take the hurt away from her baby, her firstborn.

 

She will always bring me comfort in times of sadness. She’s my mom.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.

I love you with all my heart.

xoxoxo

Five Minute Friday

16 Responses to “Comfort: Five Minute Friday {6}”

  1. daemonlyra May 10, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    I love this, my mom fought this fight for me as well. Every day I wonder where I would be without her support. The answer is probably not here. She fought the fight for my sanity alone while living 3000 miles away for years and continues to aid my husband in recognizing the signs for help as my journey into motherhood begins. Woohoo for all the amazing moms out there!

    • BipolarMomLife May 10, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Thank you!! Yes, AMEN for all the moms out there who fight for their children’s health. Part of the job description, I guess. :)

  2. Lisbeth Coiman May 10, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Beautiful words of recognition to a wonderful mother. Congratulations to both of you on Mother’s Day. Family support is the backbone of recovery for the mentally ill.

  3. Mrs Bipolarity May 10, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    What a great post and tribute to your mom. Happy Mother’s Day. :)

    • BipolarMomLife May 10, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      Thank you so much! Happy Mother’s Day to you too, my friend! :)

  4. Kat May 10, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Nothing like a strong mama. So glad she was able to help you through.

    • BipolarMomLife May 10, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

      You are so right, Kat! Me too. Don’t know where I’d be now if it weren’t for her.

  5. aninchofgray@yahoo.com May 10, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Lovely momma! So glad you have each other! xo

  6. Colline May 10, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    What a beautiful tribute to your mom.

  7. AadiRohilla May 10, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    Happy Mothers Day..

  8. joanneviola May 10, 2013 at 7:09 am #

    You are right – there is a comfort that only a mom can bring. You are blessed! Beautiful tribute to your mom. May our God continue to help you with your struggle. I was your neighbor at Five Minute Friday :)
    Blessings,
    Joanne

    • BipolarMomLife May 10, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Hi Joanne,
      Thank you so much! I am very blessed, and so grateful for her love and support over the years. Especially the hard ones.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

