Imagine: Five Minute Friday {9}

31 May

7384720872_79c6827299Photo credit: cocabeenslinky via Compfight cc

 

Imagine a world void of stigma. A place where we’re all supportive of each other’s uniqueness. Imagine embracing mental illness rather than ostracizing and shaming people who did nothing to ask for the condition they’re living with, other than be born. Imagine supportive love, a constant shoulder to lean on or ear to listen when times get tough, healing words which encourage. This is how I imagine life in the future. The very near future.


When I imagine a world without stigma, my heart relaxes and smiles with gratitude.

4 Responses to “Imagine: Five Minute Friday {9}”

  1. Maria @ The Ruth Project May 31, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    You know. I used to be one of those people who did not understand mental illness, and it took dealing with a couple of my Soldiers and seeing the effects of their illness on their profession and their families, that I finally began to understand a little bit better. Your words are simple and to the point but pack a punch. Thank you for posting it.

  2. Nancy May 31, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    Great post. Though you speak of mental illness (and everything you say would be so nice to see in our world; we need that so much), I saw my children in your words. My little boy was so upset this morning because my back was too sore to carry him downstairs to breakfast, but I bet if, instead of going downstairs without him, I had just sat with him on his bed and hugged him and given him my shoulder to cry on, he would have calmed down and walked downstairs with me. Understanding his upset and supporting him in his sadness that I couldn’t carry him, I’m sure would have made a world of difference to him. I’m so glad I found your post this morning. Thank you for your words.

    • BipolarMomLife May 31, 2013 at 10:20 am #

      I’m so glad to have read yours, too, Nancy. Thank you so much for sharing. I’ve had mornings like those, too. Hang in there. Enjoy the weekend with your kiddos.

  3. Mrs Bipolarity May 31, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    Beautiful! I love it!

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

