Memories Captured

10 Jun

MemoriesCapturedcollage

I often have to pinch myself.

I sometimes can’t believe that I got my wish.

One boy, one girl. My sweet little munchkins who I often catch playing together in the corner of the family room. Building forts, having picnics on our maroon couch blanket all spread out on the beige carpet, or just running around the house chasing each other in their superhero capes.

He leads her in the mischief they get into when I’m not looking. Such a loving, doting big brother. The way he puts his arm around her protectively, leaning in to kiss her forehead which comes up to right where his lips are as he turns his head, eyes still on me. I love how he loves her, how she looks up to him and follows his every move.

The fun they’ve been having lately playing dress-up is just so silly and adorable. I’ve found her tangled up in his jammie shirt, while he’s running down the stairs with his underpants on his head exclaiming how he is “The Underpants Man!”

When I think back to the year we spent planning our wedding, and the months when I was trying to pick out our first dance song, I smile and my heart swells with wonder. There were two songs we had narrowed it down to: True Companion and One Boy, One Girl….

We ended up going with True Companion and there couldn’t be a better description of my love. He is my perfect compliment, my true companion.

But whenever I hear the song we didn’t choose, my eyes tear up and I think of how incredibly lucky I am that my dreams came true.

14 Responses to “Memories Captured”

  1. Elaine A. June 20, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

    Oh, they are precious! LOVE berry picking too, so fun to get your own. ;) And True Companion, that is SUCH a good song…

  2. Tricia June 12, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    Oh this is so lovely! I love how you captured the simple moments of sibling love. I have the same – one girl, one boy (though in a different order than yours). My son is only 7 months but I can’t wait for memories like these to happen here. Love that your dreams came true :)

  3. southmainmuse June 11, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Love your children. And strawberries. I just looked online and I think the strawberry farm around here is done for the year. But blackberries next week they say. Yay.

  4. Tracie June 11, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    This made me tear up a little. Your kids are so sweet. I love that all your dreams came true. What a blessing.

  5. SixFeetUnderBlog June 10, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    Coming from Memories Captured. You;ve captured this memory!

  6. Maureen@ScoopsofJoy June 10, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    You captured the memories, the lovely bond too. Plus, they are so gorgeous!

    • BipolarMomLife June 11, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      Thank you so much, Maureen! They do have a special bond. It reminds me of my brother and I.

  7. aninchofgray@yahoo.com June 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Awesome and beautiful!

  8. Galit Breen June 10, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Your pure and heartfelt gratefulness is lovely, and inspiring. xo

    • BipolarMomLife June 11, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      Thank you so much, Galit! I just saw the tweet you sent out yesterday, too – you are so sweet.

  9. Alison June 10, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    Your children are gorgeous, Jennifer.
    As is your post.
    Thank you for linking up with us.

    • BipolarMomLife June 10, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Thank you for creating Memories Captured! I’m so happy to link up with you!! (I’m running to yoga, but will look forward to checking out everyone’s posts and commenting later today.) xo

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

