Five Minute Friday {11}: Listen

14 Jun

When I listen to my heart, it tells me to keep being brave. To stay open and to keep giving and sharing my story, especially when I feel like giving up.

This week I’ve listened to the waves methodically sweeping in, crashing into the sand in gentle whispers while laying on the beach reading. I’ve listened to tropical birds coo and sing, their vibrant chirps awakening me from naps taken under the shade of palm trees.

But my favorite sound, by far, has been the joyful laughter of us, four friends reunited.

Our voices reminiscing over meals shared together. We listened to each other declare short term goals, we remembered all that we have experienced in our many years of friendship and marriage, and we discussed how hard it is to raise a family.

anniversaryCancun

I’m so grateful for this week.

It’s our last day here in paradise. By this evening we will have returned to the reality of normal life. And I’m quite sure that we’ve all been refreshed and energized by this vacation. I’m excited to arrive home and listen to the sounds of my family settling back into our routines, our summer together.

Time to return to living my story. One glorious day at a time.

Five Minute Friday

13 Responses to “Five Minute Friday {11}: Listen”

  1. bpshielsy June 16, 2013 at 4:55 am #

    Holidays and spending time with friends are way up there on my list of fav things to do. Where have you been vacating? That beach looks goooood!

  2. Kat June 14, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    Lovely.
    I’m so glad you’ve had this time to relax and rejuvenate. We all need that. :)

    • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

      We do! It’s sometimes hard to remember to take time out for just us and our spouse, but it’s so worth it when we make it happen.

  3. Dawn St Amand Paoletta June 14, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Oh I can’t wait for vacation! What a gift of friendship that is…so uplifting! If you come over to my place you will feel you have not left the beach my friend! Promise! ;)

    • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Loved your post on listening, Dawn! Yes, our friends are such a gift to us. We had a lovely week of listening to each other – it was really special, as all good friends are.

      • Dawn St Amand Paoletta June 14, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

        Thanks for visiting- sorry you had a hard time posting the comment- thanks for getting through though! I am going to follow you through Bloglovin’. I want to also check out your posts about Bipolar- we have a situation here with my daughter and I would so love more info but just not sure where to turn…

      • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

        Of course – I’d be happy to try to help if I can in any way. Keep in touch and please send me an email if you’d like: bipolarmomlife@gmail.com.

  4. Jana @janas3dresses June 14, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Your words are beautiful. I found you at Five minute friday. So glad I did. I grew up in a home with bipolar (my father and brother). Thank you for your bravery at sharing your story!

    • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

      Thank you so much for stopping by, Jana! I appreciate your support so much.

  5. Mia June 14, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    Dear Jenn
    Yes, dear one, bipolar depression is a terrible disease and so invisible! I am so glad you had a great week with old friends. It gives a new color to the everyday and a song to your normal!
    Much love
    Mia

    • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

      Thank you so much, Mia! Yes, it was so wonderful to catch up with old friends who we treasure so much but don’t get to see as often as we’d like due to geographic challenges. This trip was two years in the making, and it was worth all the effort we all put into making it happen.

  6. Heidi Blankenship June 14, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    What a beautiful post. Isn’t it amazing how a trip to the beach can bring such restoration? I’m glad you’ve had this week and I’m so glad I found your blog. Thanks for sharing your story. -Heidi

    • BipolarMomLife June 14, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

      Yes, the beach to me is such a magical, soothing place. I can sit on the sand for hours just watching the waves. Thank you so much for visiting my blog, Heidi! Loved your FMF post, too.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

