Five Minute Friday {12}: Rhythm

21 Jun

2545581891_45d59ba7eekokoperry via Compfight cc

Right now, in this moment, I’m ready to make the climb.

I am ready to rise up at the end of the longest day of the year to make a statement.

With my family by my side, the steady rhythm of our hiking feet choosing measured steps along the trail, we will make the trek to honor the path I’ve walked in the past and the recovery journey I am still taking and will continue to fight for as long as I live.

I am a warrior mom. I climb to show that I am brave, that no one should be afraid to talk about mental illness, and because I passionately believe in the mission of Postpartum Progress, the non-profit sponsoring this event and the world’s most widely-read blog on postpartum depression and all other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth: to focus on positive messages of empowerment and recovery.

Today I am reminded that every day is a climb. Every day brings new challenges to face and overcome. Every day is a gift which I am honored to receive. Every day I will answer the call to climb because making the trek to the top, however impossible the obstacles to the summit may be, will be well worth it in the end. I know now from experience that what lies ahead holds more potential than I could have ever imagined.

See you at the top.

#ClimbOut

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker’s

Five Minute Friday

5 Responses to “Five Minute Friday {12}: Rhythm”

  1. beachmama June 25, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    You’re a gutsy girl Jennifer. My youngest sister has battled with bi-polar since she was a teen. As a sister, watching from the sidelines, feeling helpless, doing things you think are helpful but could be destructive to someone you love is a whole other side of this issue I’d love to see addressed (maybe you already have). We’re now well into our 50’s and my sister is living a great life. She’s married but no children. She’s stable and enjoys life. I’m sure she still struggles but she now knows what to do to stabilize herself. When I told her stories of my postpartum depression, not sleeping for days and feeling manic she told me I was describing what she experienced in her ‘manic’ phase. I cannot imagine living that way not knowing a way out. My son is now 17 years-old. We both got through my postpartum in good shape. Thanks for the link to Postpartum Progress. What an amazing community of women! I will send a link to your site to my sister and let others know you’re here as well.

  2. Jacque Watkins June 22, 2013 at 3:04 am #

    I love how you’re talking about this and bringing awareness! I’m a labor and delivery nurse, and so many patients struggle postpartum and beyond. Thank you for tackling the hard things and encouraging others that they are not alone! Blessings to you… xoxo

  3. Mia June 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    Yes, dear one, every day is a gift we have the privilege to receive. It might not be a day of plain sailing; in can be a day of steep mountain climbing. Still, as we learn to live to the rhythm of life, we can rejoice even in the darkest days.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  4. auntyamo June 21, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Your determination is inspiring! Absolutely love your spirit!
    Go! Climb! Reach that summit and we’ll all rejoice with you when you do :) x

  5. Kelly Greer June 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    Jennifer – I love this! Of course, my blog is about mountains and my email is kagclimbs@yahoo.com. And, as a brain tumor survivor, I too am faced with mental health issues on a daily basis. I love the name “climb out”….how appropriate is that! I am so glad I found you from over at Five Minute Fridays! I’m proud of you for speaking out!
    Hugs,
    Kelly

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

