Five Minute Friday {15}: Small

16 Aug

Five-Minute-Friday-15-Small

I can’t help but think about how one decision always leads to the next. Some things, which may seem small and insignificant at the time, have the ability to change the trajectory of our entire lives. Choosing a major at the age of 18, going on that blind date that your friends set you up on, deciding there will never be a perfect time to have another baby and so you just go for it even though the house and cars are too small and you don’t know how you’ll ever afford college for them all.

Sometimes you have to stop over-analyzing and just pick a direction, hoping for the best.

I’m glad that I’m able to uncover and pay attention to that soft whisper of my conscious in the back of my mind. A tiny part of me believes it’s Him helping to guide me make the right choices. Yet, I’m constantly doubting myself. I’m constantly doubting my faith.

But He hasn’t let me down.

I’m still trying to comprehend my reason for being here, but I believe the decisions in my life that have made me who I am. All the left turns when they should have been right, and the right turns when I could have gone straight, the year and a half when I would take two steps forward only to fall back and not be able to get up for weeks. These small moments of my life have brought me here.

And I’m loving this place.
Five Minute Friday

9 Responses to “Five Minute Friday {15}: Small”

  1. Nina Badzin August 22, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Beautifully said and I love Gretchen Rubin’s quote too. I’m going to pin that little poster right now!

    • BipolarMomLife August 23, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      Thank you so much, Nina! I love her perspective on life and I’ve learned so much from reading her work.

  2. Jess August 16, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    Love this post… just found your blog recently. I think it’s often the hardest to stop and listen for those little whispers. :)

  3. Mia August 16, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I firmly believe that every time we waver in our faith and look up to Jesus, He prays like He did for Peter that our faith will not fail. After all, faith is wonderful gift of grace.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

  4. Sheila Edeliant August 16, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    I am so thankful to have a rather impulsive (and fun!) husband who balances my often over-analytical decision-making processes. Yes, there are quite a few decisions I would love to have made differently, but the present truly is a gift; I, too, am thankful for it.

    Great post, Jenn. (And thanks for stopping by my site to comment!)

    Blessings,
    Sheila :)

  5. Sarah August 16, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    I love this Jenn. I have often pondered the same things. How life can change on a dime with even just one tiny decision. Sometimes even the smallest of decisions can bring us back to our path. And it’s the little whispers from spirit that guide us there. Things just seem to flow smoothly when I am listening for that guidance. It really is awe inspiring sometimes. And so comforting to know that there is a purpose for each and every one of us :)

    • BipolarMomLife August 16, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      I agree 100%, Sarah! So true for me as well, when I follow my instinct things usually end up working out. Thanks for reading & commenting. :)

  6. Darlene Collazo August 16, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Hi. Found you at 5MF. Stop analyzing and pick a direction. That’s the difficult part, eh?!

    • BipolarMomLife August 16, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Yes, it always seems to be the challenge! :) Loved your post – just commented on your site.

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

