My love anchor

30 Aug

I woke up before anyone else in the house did on my wedding day. It was six o’clock and my nerves had driven me to the bathroom. Back in bed, I pretended to go back to sleep, but my mind kept running through the events of the day ahead of me. I wanted our kiss to be perfect.

We got married at twenty-four. Some may say that’s young, but I knew I wanted to be with him forever after we had only been dating for three months. I’ve always said I’d be ready to take the next step, build my life, when I knew we were right for each other. My anchor. He’s always been my anchor. This is what I’ve learned after fifteen years together, ten of those as husband and wife.

I didn’t know back then how many obstacles we’d be faced with in the years ahead. Neither of us saw mental illness in my future. How could anyone predict that? And even if we could, it’s not like it would have changed our minds about wanting to be together.

It’s not easy being married to me. I have tumultuous moods, get frustrated easily, am the most stubborn person I know,  and I’m sure sometimes he just wants to shush me because I’m exhausting. But he doesn’t. Because he knows that’s just who I am. And he loves me for me. I like to think I’m all the excitement he’ll ever need.

He is my support, encouraging me with his love. He is my balance, guiding me back to the middle when I sway off course. He is my steady, gently pulling me up when I fall back. I am more in love with him today than I was the day I married him.

Happy Anniversary, Honey. You’re my anchor through life’s storms. And I love being tied to you.

xoxoxoxoxo

10thAnniversary

11 Responses to “My love anchor”

  1. aninchofgray@yahoo.com August 31, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Happy Anniversary!! He sounds like a great man.

  2. Alison August 31, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Happy 10th Anniversary to you two!

  3. Lance August 30, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

    Happy Anniversary. I wrote about something similar, my anchor that led to three others.

    Hope you guys have a great day.

    • BipolarMomLife August 30, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Thanks, Lance! We’re looking forward to a great date tonight. And I can’t wait to surprise him with the gift I put together. I’ll post pics on my Instagram later tonight. :)

  4. annemarie4658 August 30, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    love, love, love this! Having an anchor is key to getting through life! So happy you have one! Great piece of writing.

    • BipolarMomLife August 30, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Awww, thank you so much, Anne Marie! I love that I have him too. So blessed.

  5. Sarah August 30, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Congratulations on 10 years! Happy Anniversary. It makes such a big difference in how we cope with bipolar when we have someone strong to anchor to. I am so glad that you have that special someone.

    • BipolarMomLife August 30, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Thank you so much, Sarah! I agree with you. Having my wonderful husband who is so calm, laid back and in many ways, my opposite, has been the key to us getting through my diagnosis together.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Labor Day Mental Health Monday | A Way With Words - September 2, 2013

    […] “My Love Anchor” (Bipolar Mom Life) – a loving tribute from a woman with bipolar to her husband of ten years. […]

I'd love to hear your take. Comments make me happy!

